Bruin Open raises record $93,000 for student scholarships

KCC Foundation Bruin Scholarship Open volunteers pose for a group photo with a car in front of the North Avenue campus.

A record amount of $93,245 in scholarship money was raised for Kellogg Community College students during the KCC Foundation’s annual Bruin Scholarship Open in September.

The annual event – held Sept. 5 at Binder Park Golf Course in Battle Creek – is the largest fundraising event of the year for the Foundation and has raised nearly $800,000 over the past 17 years.

Nearly 60 teams participated and 120 sponsors were represented in the Bruin Open this year, which included an 18-hole scramble, prize raffle, 50-50 raffle, text giving/drawing, special hole contests, lunch and dinner. The event was coordinated by more than 50 members of KCC’s staff and more than three dozen KCC student-athlete volunteers.

Teresa Durham, executive director of the KCC Foundation, said this year’s event was a great success.

“The Bruin Scholarship Open has been and continues to be a key contributor to the educational enrichment of this community,” Durham said. “The many golfers, sponsors and dedicated volunteers who help to make this event a growing success each year demonstrate time and again the Battle Creek area’s commitment to education and student success in the classroom, and we’re grateful for such strong community support.”

Funds raised at the event this year will pay for approximately 25 student scholarships.

The previous fundraising record for the event was $92,944, raised in 2012. Last year the event raised approximately $90,000.

Major sponsors of the event this year included the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers LMCC, which donated $7,500 to become the largest single donor in the history of the Bruin Open.

Team event winners, listed by division, are as follows.

Men’s division winners

  • Mike Boomrod, GDI Omni
  • Joe Khali, GDI Omni
  • Eddie Naji, GDI Omni
  • Ali Saad, GDI Omni

Mixed division winners

  • Bob Bendzinski, Bendzinski & Co.
  • Kathy-Sue Dunn, Bendzinski & Co.
  • Kelly Scott, County Administrator
  • Rick Scott, Kellogg Community College

Women’s division winners

  • Angie Hubbard, Ralston/ConAgra
  • Theresea Johnson, Ralston/ConAgra
  • Sue Norrod, Ralston/ConAgra
  • Sandy Palmer, Ralston/ConAgra

For more information about the KCC Foundation or to donate to student scholarships online, visit

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest news releases online at