Bruin Open raises $100,000 for student scholarships

Bruin Scholarship Open organizers and volunteers pose for a group photo on KCC's North Avenue campus in Battle Creek.

More than $100,000 in scholarship money was raised for Kellogg Community College students during the KCC Foundation’s 21st annual Bruin Scholarship Open in September.

The annual event – held Sept. 7 at Binder Park Golf Course in Battle Creek – is the largest fundraising event of the year for the Foundation and has raised more than $1.2 million since its inception in 1998.

A total of 58 teams participated and 126 sponsors were represented in the Bruin Open this year, which in addition to golfing included a raffle, special hole contests including the popular Money on the Green Putting Contest, live music and painting, lunch and dinner. The event was coordinated by more than 70 members of KCC’s staff, retirees, student-athletes and honor students.

Teresa Durham, executive director of the KCC Foundation, said this year’s event was a great success.

“The Bruin Scholarship Open has been and continues to be a key contributor to the educational enrichment of this community,” Durham said. “The many golfers, sponsors and dedicated volunteers who help to make this event a growing success each year demonstrate time and again the Battle Creek area’s commitment to education and student success in the classroom, and we’re grateful for such strong community support.”

Funds raised at the event this year will help support approximately 70 student scholarships.

Team event winners, listed by division, are as follows.

Men’s Division winners – a tie – included teams sponsored by Eaton Corporation and the Eisele Family Foundation. The winning team sponsored by Eaton Corporation included:

  • Jody Rocco
  • Kyle Hughes
  • Jermie Carle
  • Tom Raymond

The winning team sponsored by the Eisele Family Foundation included:

  • Charlie Eisele
  • Rick Eisele
  • Rusty Coon
  • Brian Coon

Mixed Division winners – also a tie – included teams sponsored by W. Soule and Fifth Third Securities. The winning team sponsored by W. Soule included:

  • Ron Moore
  • Dave Pierce
  • Theresa Johnson
  • Michelle Hull

The winning team sponsored by Fifth Third Securities included:

  • Rick Scott
  • Kelli Scott
  • Kevin Mataway
  • Kathy Sue Vette

The Women’s Division winner was a team sponsored by Binder Park Zoo, including:

  • Diane Thompson
  • Amy Riegel
  • Jan Keen
  • Leslie Walsh

For more information about the KCC Foundation or to donate to student scholarships online, visit

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest press releases online at