Kellogg Community College honors high school counselors with Outstanding Counselor Awards

A collage of photos of Outstanding Counselor Award winners with KCC and high school representatives.

Kellogg Community College’s Admissions Office in February recognized outstanding high school counselor partners with Outstanding Counselor Awards.

Award winners, one from each county in the KCC service district, include:

  • Jim Hogoboom, Delton Kellogg High School, Barry County
  • Jennifer Searls, Branch Intermediate School District, Branch County
  • Matthew Hermann, Pennfield High School, Calhoun County

Additionally, KCC awarded the inaugural Russ Bortell Memorial Award to Jodee Stanton, Dean of Early College and Dual Enrollment at Gull Lake Community Schools.

This award is granted to the school counselor or employee who has shown exceptional dedication and service to their students for many years. It is named for the late Russ Bortell, a longtime KCC employee who was committed to helping students gain access to higher education and providing guidance on how to be successful in college.

Pictured above, in the top row from left to right, are KCC and high school representatives with award winners Jim Hogoboom and Jennifer Searls. In the bottom row from left to right are Matthew Hermann and Jodee Stanton.

This article first appeared in the March 2022 edition of BruIN magazine. For more information visit

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest press releases online at