KCC announces winners of Student Art Show awards

Joan Wetherill won the Best of Show Award for this untitled inkjet print, a digital photograph.

Joan Wetherill won the Best of Show Award for this untitled inkjet print, a digital photograph.

More than two dozen student artists were recognized with awards during a ceremony April 21 honoring the top participants in  Kellogg Community College’s Student Art Show.

Ninety-two student artists entered 151 works of art in the annual show, which also serves as a competition for Kimiko Petersen Fine Art Awards totaling $1,000, in addition to scholarships and other awards. Petersen Awards included Best of Media and Honorable Mention awards spread across 10 media categories in addition to a single Best of Show Award and a single Instructor Recognition Award.

The award-winning artists and their entries, as judged by local artist and retired art instructor Craig Bishop, are as follows:

The Best of Show Award went to Joan Wetherill for an untitled pigmented inkjet print (a digital photograph) and the Instructor Recognition Award went to Elizabeth Stafford for “Untitled #3,” also a pigmented inkjet print (digital photograph).

Best of Media awards went to Nathan Vaccaro (ceramics), Thomas Graham (drawing), Dia Massey (2D mixed media), Paul Edwards (sculpture and 3D mixed media), Taylor McCoy (black and white photography), Pam Sikora (digital media), Elizabeth Cook (printmaking/alternative photography print processes) and Stephen Richmond (animation/video). No Best of Media awards were given for the painting or graphic design categories.

Honorable Mention awards went to Sheila Virgil (ceramics); Morgan Paul and Kathy Seifert (drawing); Kelly McNees and Megan Ward (2D mixed media); Joseph McIntosh (sculpture and 3D mixed media); Paul Edwards (black and white photography); Renee Elkins, Linda Helton and James Schoder (digital media); Kenzi Rombaugh (printmaking/alternative photography print processes); Brittany Kellogg (graphic design); and Matthew Dillinger (animation/video). No Honorable Mention awards were given for the painting category.

Additionally, Elizabeth Cook was awarded the $1,000 Bryan R. Thomas Memorial Scholarship, Paul Edwards was awarded the $1,000 Battle Creek Society of Artists Scholarship and Taylor Yost was awarded the $250 Graphic Design Department Scholarship. The scholarship recipients were selected by committees comprised of KCC faculty and staff.

Other awards included the Art League Award of Excellence, awarded to Taylor Yost; the Arts and Communication Outstanding Achievement in Arts Award, awarded to Chelsea Staines; and the Binda Excellence in Art Award, awarded to Craig Noaeill. Mosaic Entry Recognition Awards – recognizing outstanding art submitted to the Mosaic, KCC’s literary journal – were awarded to Tabatha McLendon and Dave Zender.

KCC’s Student Art Show will remain on display free and open to the public through May 1 in the Eleanor R. & Robert A. DeVries Gallery in the college’s Davidson Visual and Performing Arts Center, located on campus at 450 North Ave. in Battle Creek. Gallery hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest press releases online at daily.kellogg.edu/category/press-releases.