KCC honors students at annual Awards Banquet

Music student Janis Emery accepts an award from KCC President Dr. Dennis Bona during the 2014 Awards Banquet.

Kellogg Community College recognized its top program graduates during the college’s annual Awards Banquet May 1.

The College honored 41 graduating students with 44 awards at the banquet, which recognizes students’ outstanding achievement in their field of study. Award winners are selected by the faculty and administrators from the department that corresponds with each award; awards are also given to the overall outstanding full- and part-time graduates in each of the two academic divisions.

To qualify for the award, students must major or exhibit interest in the award area; earn a 3.5 or higher GPA in the award area; evidence significant creative growth; and exhibit a high degree of participation in and/or contributions to the department activities in one or more capacities.

This year’s award winners, listed by division, include:


  • Jon Johnson, of Battle Creek, All-Michigan Academic Team 2014
  • Madeline Schnorr, of Marshall, All-Michigan Academic Team 2014
  • Tara VanDenberg, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Female Scholar Athlete
  • Max Drenth, of Decatur, Outstanding Male Scholar Athlete 2014
  • Kerry Korpela, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Student Employee 2014
  • Angi Yafanaro, of Springfield, Outstanding Student Employee 2014


Arts and Sciences Division

Arts and Communication Department

  • Stephen Richmond, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Achievement in Art
  • Kendrick Johnson, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Achievement in Communication 2014
  • Tiffany Thatcher, of Homer, Outstanding Achievement in Creative Writing 2014
  • Jared Vaden, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Achievement in English 2014
  • Kyler Hackworth, of Homer, Outstanding Achievement in Foreign Language 2014
  • Elizabeth Findlay, of Union City, Outstanding Achievement in Music 2014
  • Amber Isaacson, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Achievement in Theatre 2014

Elizabeth and Guido Binda Excellence in Performing Arts Awards

  • Kenzi Rombaugh, of Battle Creek, Excellence in Art Binda Award 2014
  • Tehanne Cooney, of Athens, Excellence in Communication Binda Award 2014
  • Janis Emery, of East Leroy, Excellence in Music Binda Award 2014
  • Jared Sheldon, of Battle Creek, Excellence in Theatre Binda Award 2014

Math and Science Department

  • Samuel (James) Church, of Hastings, Outstanding Achievement in Biology 2014
  • Whitney Niedzielski, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry 2014
  • Daniel Layton, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics 2014
  • Jason Moore, of Marshall, Outstanding Achievement in Physics 2014

Social Science and Education Department

  • Jennifer Ball, of Portage, Outstanding Early Childhood Education Program Graduate 2014
  • Hayley Holbrook, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Education Major Graduate 2014
  • Erin Elliston, of Nashville, Outstanding Human Services Program Graduate 2014
  • Susan Johnson-Byrd, of Hastings, Outstanding Social Science Graduate 2014
  • Shay Adkins, of Battle Creek, Service-Learning Commitment 2014

Career and Occupational Education Division

  • Debra Smith, of Clarksville, Outstanding Associate Degree Nursing Graduate 2014
  • James (Beau) Jencks, of Ceresco, Outstanding Business Management Graduate 2014
  • Roy Rearick, of Reading, Outstanding Computer-Aided Drafting and Design Technology Graduate 2014
  • Michael Pier, of Athens, Outstanding Computer Engineering Technology Graduate 2014
  • Eric Chard, of Homer, Outstanding Criminal Justice Graduate 2014
  • Tanna Burtch, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Dental Hygiene Graduate 2014
  • Joshua Miller, of Springfield, Outstanding EMS Student 2014
  • Brandon Smith, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Graphic Design Graduate 2014
  • Gary Fales, of Delton, Outstanding Magnetic Resonance Imaging Graduate 2014
  • Marcella Burke, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Medical Laboratory Technology Graduate 2014
  • Dawn McMillon, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Office Information Technology Graduate 2014
  • Rochelle Pino, of Battle Creek, Outstanding Paralegal Graduate 2014
  • Stephanie Glasgo, of Angola, Ind., Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant Graduate 2014
  • Deonda Robertson, of Kalamazoo, Outstanding Radiography Graduate 2014


  • Janis Emery, of East Leroy, Outstanding Part-Time Arts & Sciences Graduate 2014
  • Madeline Schnorr, of Marshall, Outstanding Full-Time Arts & Sciences Graduate 2014
  • Roy Rearick, of Reading, Outstanding Part-Time Career & Occupational Education Graduate 2014
  • Linda Helton, of Springfield, Outstanding Full-Time Career & Occupational Education Graduate 2014

For more information about the Awards Banquet, visit www.kellogg.edu/student-life/awards-banquet. Photos of the winners receiving their awards may be downloaded from KCC’s Facebook page at http://goo.gl/YrLOKE. For higher-res images, contact Digital Marketer/Writer Simon A. Thalmann at thalmanns@kellogg.edu.

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest news releases online at daily.kellogg.edu/category/news-releases.