Dental Hygiene students recognized at Pinning Ceremony

KCC's Dental Hygiene Class of 2014 poses together before their Pinning Ceremony.

Four Kellogg Community College Dental Hygiene graduates and one first-year Dental Hygiene student received recognition awards during the College’s annual Department of Dental Hygiene Education Pinning Ceremony May 15.

Award winners include:

  • Tanna Burtch, of Battle Creek, who was named Outstanding Dental Hygiene Student. The award recognizes superior academic achievement based on overall grade point average and academic performance in academic Dental Hygiene courses. Winners must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and demonstrate outstanding clinical achievement and potential for contribution to the profession while demonstrating the qualities of consistency, maturity, creativity and leadership.
  • Laney Draper, of Union City, who was presented with the Golden Scaler Award. Sponsored by dental instrument manufacturer Hu-Friedy, the award is presented to the second-year Dental Hygiene student who demonstrates outstanding clinical achievement in areas of patient education, professional demeanor and comprehensive dental hygiene care. Draper also received the Danette Wilkins BA, JD, RDH Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is presented to a Dental Hygiene student in the final year of study who demonstrates a strong work ethic and an ability to overcome adversity in pursuing educational and career goals.
  • Heidi Heers, of Battle Creek, who was recognized for Outstanding Academic Achievement. The award recognizes exceptional academic achievement and is given to the student with the highest Dental Hygiene GPA among program graduates. Heers earned a 4.0 GPA.
  • Mayra Hurtado, of Battle Creek, who was recognized with the Potential for Contribution to the Profession award. The award is presented to the first-year Dental Hygiene student who demonstrates exceptional involvement in community projects, leadership capabilities, and interest and involvement in the professional Student Dental Hygienists’ Association (SADHA).
  • Katie Wetzel, of Shelbyville, who was presented with the Virginia Jones Compassionate Care Award. The award is presented to a second-year Dental Hygiene student in memory of Virginia Jones, a former KCC dental assistant faculty member. It is presented to the student who demonstrates dedication to the dental hygiene profession, exhibits compassion in patient care, displays enthusiasm for community service and enjoys the role of the dental hygienist.

All award recipients are determined by faculty with the exception of the Wilkins Memorial Scholarship, which is determined by a scholarship committee consisting of faculty and Wilkins’ former colleagues outside of the College.

For more information about the Dental Hygiene Program at Kellogg Community College, visit

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest news releases online at