KCC Foundation announces new members to Board of Directors

A view of the reflecting pools on KCC's North Avenue campus in the spring.

The Kellogg Community College Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of two new members to its board of directors starting this month: Mark Kolanowski, of Hastings, and Catherine Yates, of Homer.

Kolanowski serves as president and chief executive officer of Hastings City Bank and its parent company, HCB Financial Corp. Kolanowski started his career with NBD (now JP Morgan Chase) in 1986 and joined Hastings City Bank as a loan officer in 1993. In 1998, he was promoted to assistant vice president/branch executive, and in January 2000, to executive vice president and chief operating officer. At the same time, he joined the board of directors of Hastings City Bank. He was named president of the bank in 2001 and in 2002 was promoted to president and chief executive officer of Hastings City Bank and HCB Financial Corp.

Kolanowski holds a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Alma College and an MBA from Western Michigan University. He is a graduate of the Perry Banking School and the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Kolanowski currently serves as the chairman of the Community Bankers of Michigan. He also serves on the Independent Community Bankers of America’s tax policy committee and the Michigan Bankers Association’s MiBankPAC committee. His community involvement includes the Barry County United Way executive committee (past president and campaign chairman); Hastings Mutual Insurance Company board of directors; Hastings Mutual Insurance Company Charitable Foundation board of directors; the Hastings Kiwanis Club; and the Barry County Economic Development Alliance board of directors. He is a past board member of Pennock Hospital and past chairman of the Pennock Foundation.

Yates serves as a commercial loan officer with Chemical Bank in Marshall. Yates started her banking career in 1991 with First Union National Bank in Florida as a teller moving her way up to a position as a specialty banking sales leader and branch sales manager. She has also been a sales associate and business banking officer with LaSalle Bank Midwest and a commercial loan officer with Southern Michigan Bank and Trust.

Yates holds a bachelor’s degree in Economics from the University of Michigan. She currently serves as a trustee for the Homer Community School District; president of the board of directors for the Marshall United Way; treasurer of the Marshall Manufacturers Association; board member and former president of the Marshall Exchange Club; chair of the Oaklawn Hospital Development Council; chair of the Oaklawn Hospital Auction; chair of the nominating committee of the Calhoun County Agriculture and Industrial Society; community board member of the Marshall Area Economic Development Alliance; Secretary/Treasurer of the Marshall LDFA/DDA board of directors; member of the Coordinating Council; and member of the Women’s Philanthropic Circle in Marshall.

Kolanowski and Yates were introduced at the KCC Foundation annual meeting last week to begin their service. They join current board members, including Mike Beckwith, Jill Booth, Steve Claywell, Matthew Davis, John Dilworth, Kathy-Sue Dunn, Eric Greene, Brenda Hart, Jon Melges, Mark O’Connell, Joe Schwarz, Drew Schweitzer, Richard Scott and Erik Stewart.

The KCC Foundation was founded in 1998 by the College to seek private funding to assist students with various needs. A nongovernmental, nonprofit 501(c)(3) with its own funds, the KCC Foundation is managed by a volunteer board of directors. For more information, contact Teresa Durham, executive director of the KCCF, at 269-965-4161 or visit www.kellogg.edu/foundation.

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest news releases online at daily.kellogg.edu/category/news-releases.