KCC students awarded Coldwater Promise Scholarships

KCC's Grahl Center campus in Coldwater.

Twenty-one Kellogg Community College students studying health or industrial trades at the College have been awarded the Coldwater Township Sunrise Rotary Promise Scholarship for the 2020-21 academic year.

Scholarship awards vary in amount and are administered by the KCC Foundation through a grant from the Coldwater Township Sunrise Rotary Foundation.

Eligible scholarship applicants must either reside in Branch County or have graduated from a Branch County high school or home school, demonstrate financial need, and be accepted to or enrolled in select KCC health or industrial/skilled trades programs.

This year’s Coldwater Township Sunrise Rotary Promise Scholarship recipients, listed alphabetically by program of study, include:

Dental Hygiene

  • Yasmeen Alsuraimi, of Coldwater
  • Olivia Johnson, of Coldwater
  • Zahia Saleh, of Coldwater

Industrial Welding/HVAC

  • Jake Mittelstadt, of Coldwater


  • Veronica Arroyo, of Coldwater
  • Ashlyn Baklund, of Union City
  • Leslie Cebrero , of Coldwater
  • Kaitlyn Czajkowski, of Bronson
  • Chamellia Goodman, of Tekonsha
  • Tara Hill, of Coldwater
  • Email Ramos Nunez, of Coldwater
  • Harley Otis, of Quincy
  • Melissa Piper, of Coldwater
  • Josilyn Quimby, of Coldwater
  • Aubrie Rabideau, of Coldwater
  • Kimberly Ramos, of Coldwater
  • Felicia Shaffer , of Union City
  • Jennifer Smith, of Coldwater

Physical Therapy Assistant

  • Jenelle Kilmer, of Hastings
  • Haila Omer, of Coldwater


  • Nicole Adams, of Coldwater

In 2019, the KCC Foundation received an initial three-year grant commitment of $60,000 from the Coldwater Township Sunrise Rotary Club and Foundation to administer the Promise Scholarship program to benefit KCC students. The goals of the project are to make post-high school education more affordable; increase the number of people seeking post-high school education/training; improve the success rate of program completions; and decrease student debt rates in the region.

In 2019, the KCC Foundation awarded Promise Scholarships to 19 students; of these students, nine graduated from KCC in 2020 and the remaining are continuing their studies.

Working in partnership with the KCC Foundation and with the initial support from the Coldwater Township Sunrise Rotary Club and its Foundation, the Sunrise Promise Scholarship Team has developed strong community partnerships and received Cornerstone ($50,000 or more) donations from the Thomas Bott Donor Advised Fund and Keystone level donations ($25,000 to $50,000) from Southern Michigan Bank & Trust, Century Bank and Trust, ProMedica Coldwater Regional Hospital, the Hal and Lillian Creal Fund and the George and Kathleen Babcoke Trust.

Hundreds of others have added support at lower but important levels, and funding has been established to support the Sunrise Promise Scholarships through 2025 as the team continues to work to fund the Promise Endowment to ensure sustainability of the program.

For more information about the Coldwater Township Sunrise Rotary Promise Scholarship, contact Promise Project Communication Liaison Jon Harpst at 517-202-7849. Scholarship donors can donate online at https://ctsrf.square.site.

For more information about the KCC Foundation, contact KCC Foundation Executive Director Teresa Durham at 269-965-4161 or visit www.kellogg.edu/foundation.

Pictured above is KCC’s regional Grahl Center campus in Coldwater.

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest press releases online at https://daily.kellogg.edu/category/news-releases.