KCC announces 2022 Student Art Exhibition award winners

KCC's 2022 Student Art Exhibit on display in the DeVries Gallery.

Kellogg Community College recognized student artists with awards last month during a reception honoring outstanding work exhibited as part of the College’s Annual Student Art Exhibition.

The exhibit, featuring 85 works from nearly three dozen student artists, was displayed at the Eleanor R. and Robert A. DeVries Gallery in KCC’s Davidson Visual and Performing Arts Center through April 29 and can be viewed online at rosep9.wixsite.com/kccstudentartexhibit/award-winners. Award winners were announced during a reception April 24 at the center.

Every spring, KCC Art, Photography and Multimedia and Graphic Design program students from the current academic year are invited to submit up to four entries for consideration for Student Art Exhibition awards. A faculty committee reviews and organizes all submissions and the bulk of the work is juried independently by an art professional chosen from outside of the College. The juror (or jurors) selects the major media category awards and honorable mentions, with cash prizes made possible through a generous donation made to the KCC Foundation by artist Kimiko Petersen and her husband Sherman Petersen.

Awards listed below include these Kimiko Petersen Fine Art Awards – including Best of Show ($250), Best of Media ($100) and Honorable Mention awards ($50 each) distributed across categories at the juror’s discretion – as well as additional miscellaneous arts awards.

Kimiko Petersen Fine Art Award winners this year were selected by juror artist and art educator Donald W. VanAuken. As an art educator, VanAuken has served in secondary education, museum interpretation, as an adjunct professor of art and as a teaching associate with the School of Art at Ohio University, where he received his Master of Fine Arts degree in painting in 2007. He is currently a professor of art and visual arts talent director in the Visual Arts Program at Olivet College.

In his juror’s statement, VanAuken said the level of skill and dedication displayed in this year’s exhibition was impressive, making the selection process a challenge.

“I chose works that showed a knowledge of the fundamental understanding of the elements of art and principles of design, as well as works that displayed a passion for one’s own artistic expression,” VanAuken said. “I was impressed by the unique concepts, ideas, and technical achievement that this exhibition offered; I was most excited to see how in many instances these student works start a conversation, not only with the viewer, but with one another as a whole.”


$1,400 total awards, selected by juror

Best of Show

  • Kathryn Banks, of Burlington, “Self-Portrait: Through My Eyes”

2D Fine Art

  • Best of 2D Fine Art: Caroline Westfall, of Marshall, “Friendly Prank”
  • Honorable Mention Drawing: Aryn Squires, of Battle Creek, “Aryn and Her Interests”
  • Honorable Mention Drawing: Westley Treat, of Battle Creek, “Hand Contour”
  • Honorable Mention Painting: Steven Gentry, of Marshall, “Separation”
  • Honorable Mention Painting: Amy Beebe, of Battle Creek, “Growing Thoughts”
  • Honorable Mention 2D Mixed Media & Printmaking: Amey Elkins Little, of Quincy, “Life in Progress”


  • Best of Photography: Kathryn Banks, of Burlington, “Self-Portrait: Through My Eyes”
  • Honorable Mention Black and White Darkroom Photography: Michelle Silverman, of Battle Creek, “Serene Shadows”
  • Honorable Mention Black and White Darkroom Photography: Joshua Earl, of Battle Creek, “Shawna Portrait”
  • Honorable Mention Digital Photography: Suzann Berlien, of Delton, “In the Mist”
  • Honorable Mention Digital Photography: Joby Purucker, of Battle Creek, “Falling”
  • Honorable Mention Digital Photography: Britney Stone, of Battle Creek, “Color of Love by Touch”
  • Honorable Mention Digital Composite: Lydia Holbrook, of Marshall, “Action”

Digital Design

  • Best of Digital Design: Victoria Wetters, of Augusta, “Jesus Has My Heart”
  • Honorable Mention Graphic Design: Lauren Garrison, of Battle Creek, “Oversized Spring”
  • Honorable Mention Graphic Design: Madison Sweeter, of Tekonsha, “Jack”
  • Honorable Mention Digital Illustration: Hannah Grant, of Battle Creek, “The Districts Gig Poster”

Time-Based Digital Media

  • Best of Time-Based Digital Media: Jasmine McMaster, of Leonidas, “I’m a Ghost!”
  • Honorable Mention Animation: Hannah Grant, of Battle Creek, “Insect Splash”


  • Art League Excellence Award: Amy Beebe, of Battle Creek, “Growing Thoughts”
  • Instructor Recognition: Skyler Mobley, of Battle Creek, “Bench”

For more information about KCC’s student art award winners, contact KCC Graphic Design professor and Art Exhibits Director Penny Rose at 269-565-7961 or rosep@kellogg.edu.

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest press releases online at https://daily.kellogg.edu/category/news-releases.