Three KCC students earn All-Michigan Academic Team honors from PTK

A group photo of All-Michigan Academic Team award recipients who attended the spring celebration ceremony. Photo courtesy of the MCCA.

Three Kellogg Community College students this spring were awarded prestigious honors from the international Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Alexia Kryszewski, Mitchell Laske and Laura Salmeron, all of Battle Creek, were named to the PTK’s All-Michigan Academic Team and honored by the PTK and Michigan Community College Association during an All-Michigan Academic Team celebration ceremony March 11 in East Lansing.

Kryszewski was also honored as a PTK New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar – one of just 104 New Century Scholars in the country and the only New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar in Michigan.

Kryszewski graduated with Associate in Arts and Associate in Science degrees this spring and Salmeron graduated with an Associate of Applied Science degree in Dental Hygiene. Laske studied Industrial Technology at the College’s RMTC and has since taken employment in the field.

Active PTK students are nominated for the honor by participating colleges. KCC’s award winners were nominated by KCC Student Life Director and PTK advisor Kristin McDermott and KCC faculty.

“These students have demonstrated outstanding academic performance and made a positive impact on their campuses and in their communities,” Brandy Johnson, president of the Michigan Community College Association, said in a statement. “It was an honor to recognize their accomplishments and nominations to join Phi Theta Kappa’s All-Michigan Academic Team. We are so proud of them and will continue to cheer them on as they pursue their academic and career goals.”

Information about each award recipient’s KCC nomination follows.

Alexia Kryszewski

Alexia’s unwavering commitment to her community shines through her transformative initiative, the Kid’s Closet. Through her leadership, Alexia has not only provided essential supplies to children in need but has also created a welcoming environment akin to a boutique, ensuring dignity and care for every child. Her vision extends beyond immediate assistance, as she has established sustainable partnerships to guarantee ongoing support. Alexia’s drive for educational leadership reflects her desire to effect positive change in entire school systems, leaving an indelible mark on both Harper Creek and Kellogg Community College.

Mitchell Laske

Mitch’s fervor for learning and mechanical systems is nothing short of inspiring. His self-directed approach to education, coupled with his relentless pursuit of knowledge, distinguishes him as a standout student. Mitch’s dedication to academic excellence is evident in his meticulous problem-solving during lab activities, showcasing his capability and determination. As a representation of Kellogg Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, Mitch embodies the institution’s ethos of scholarly pursuit and unwavering commitment.

Laura Salmeron

Laura’s journey as a first-generation college student and her determination to overcome obstacles reflect her resilience and tenacity. Her aspirations to address oral health disparities in her community underscore her genuine concern for the well-being of others. Laura’s proactive approach toward preventive dental care exemplifies her commitment to advocating for the health and wellness of underserved populations. Through her ambition to become a dental therapist and educator, Laura epitomizes the transformative power of education and service, embodying the values of Kellogg Community College.

About Phi Theta Kappa at KCC

Phi Theta Kappa is an invitation-only international honor society. KCC students in the organization must have completed 12 or more semester hours with a 3.5 or higher grade-point average. New KCC students may be invited to provisional membership based on their high school academic achievement and leadership activities. For more information about PTK, visit

Pictured above: A group photo of All-Michigan Academic Team award recipients who attended the spring celebration ceremony. Photo courtesy of the MCCA.

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest press releases online at