KCC Foundation’s Bruin Open raises record $95,000 for student scholarships

Bruin Open sponsors and KCC staff volunteering at the event pose for a group photo outdoors on campus in Battle Creek.

A record amount of $95,000 in scholarship money was raised for Kellogg Community College students during the KCC Foundation’s annual Bruin Scholarship Open in September.

The annual event – held Sept. 11 at Binder Park Golf Course in Battle Creek – is the largest fundraising event of the year for the Foundation and has raised more than $800,000 over the past 18 years.

A full roster of 60 teams participated and more than 120 sponsors were represented in the Bruin Open this year, which included an 18-hole scramble, prize raffle, 50-50 raffle, special hole contests including a Money on the Green Putting Contest, live music, lunch and dinner. The event was coordinated by more than 50 members of KCC’s staff and more than three dozen KCC student-athlete and honor student volunteers.

Teresa Durham, executive director of the KCC Foundation, said this year’s event was a great success.

“The Bruin Scholarship Open has been and continues to be a key contributor to the educational enrichment of this community,” Durham said. “The many golfers, sponsors and dedicated volunteers who help to make this event a growing success each year demonstrate time and again the Battle Creek area’s commitment to education and student success in the classroom, and we’re grateful for such strong community support.”

Funds raised at the event this year will pay for approximately 30 student scholarships.

This is the second consecutive year the Bruin Open event has raised record funds for student scholarships; the previous fundraising record for the event was $93,245, which was raised through the event in 2014.

Team event winners, listed by division, are as follows.

Men’s division winners representing Team Eisele include:

  • Kevin Buckner
  • Brian Coon
  • Rick Eisele
  • Tom Shaw

Mixed division winners representing Bendzinski and Co. include:

  • Bob Bendzinski,
  • Kathy-Sue Dunn
  • Kelly Scott
  • Rick Scott

Women’s division winners representing ConAgra include:

  • Michelle Hull
  • Tresa Johnson
  • Sue Norrod
  • Sandy Palmer

For more information about the KCC Foundation or to donate to student scholarships online, visit www.kellogg.edu/about/foundation.

For more news about Kellogg Community College, view our latest press releases online at https://daily.kellogg.edu/category/news-releases.